Ozone Zone Books:

I had it posted on my technical blog, but I received comments I should share it with other Nikon users as it may be of use to them. So, this one is mostly for photographers – Nikon users. More regular posts are coming soon. Cheers! Derek

Originally posted on Derek Galon - Photo Tips:

Often working in studio, I wanted to use tethering to fine-tune my images. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with tethering options I had so far. My experience was not so good with my older cameras (Nikon D700, D300s and D7000), and it turned for even worse with my new Nikon D800.

I tested Lightroom tethering, I tried Nikon’s Camera Control Pro, as well as some other third-party software. The story repeated itself: errors, crashes, “camera not found” messages, sluggish action, unbelievably crude and user-unfriendly interfaces, you name it. Yes, user unfriendly – and plain silly too. For example – you have a Live View window on your laptop, but it remains so small (and you can’t resize it) that it really defeats its purpose of seeing better than on camera LCD. On top of all that, control options offered by most software are so basic that it makes you run between…

View original 1,121 more words

3 thoughts on “

  1. Hi Derek,

    This article sounds perfect for our March newsletter, if that is acceptable to you.

    My focus is strongly aimed at the election and I will phone you to bring you up to steam let me know day and time. Also we could use Skype if you have an address.

    Cheers,

    John

    • Thank you, John If you can have any use for this story – perfect. I can call you tomorrow, or you can try to call me – i have a major studio shoot on thursday, and i am opreparing for it, so not always at home. But usually i am until late morning – which for you is after lunch time. My home number is 250 3802031 thank you Derek

  2. Pingback: Among the Ancient Gods (an art photo shoot) « Ozone Zone Books

Leave a Reply

